Dreaming in Mono

Apparently, this daring maneuver is called The Full Out. Quite appropriate, I'd say.

So when I read in the most recent issue of Altus magazine about how cool monoskiing is I have to admit that I had my doubts. I mean, when you combine the worst qualities of skiing and snowboarding and add a touch of snowlerblading style you end up with monoskiing, right?

Well thanks to alert reader, The Dawg, who forwarded the link to the video below, I have doubts no more. Dreaming in Mono is a brilliant web series directed by Jens Jonsson (King of Ping Pong) and produced by McDonald’s in, I must admit, a surprisingly creative attempt to sell more burgers. And while I’m wondering about the success they’re having towards that end, I have to say that making this hidden gem has given me a lot more appreciation for their marketing acumen than Ronald McDonald ever did.

4 responses to “Dreaming in Mono

  1. Glad you like Dreaming in Mono. You can view a preview of the third episode here:

    Be sure to vivit the site for more info

    Stay Mono

  2. Glad you like Dreaming in Mono. You can view a preview of the third episode here:

    Be sure to vivit the site for more info
    http://www.dreaminginmono.com

    Stay Mono

  3. Ok, that’s a funny movie about monoski but if you want to watch some serious action, you won’t probably believe it 😉

    Here is a link to the french community and the latest videos :
    http://monoski.free.fr/videos.php

    • True dat, Lateralus. I was completely astounded at the number of monos I saw at Grands Montets on Saturday. The mono movement is alive and well in Chamonix, that’s for sure.

      And thanks heaps for the link. The videos speak volumes. In the one vid the guy was skiing backwards, hit a handrail and even did a 360! Holy smokes, I wonder if skiing and snowboarding will ever catch up!

Leave a Reply

