Surfer Poll Awards

Photo of the Year nominee Grant Ellis

Photo of the Year nominee Grant Ellis

OK, if you stare at this photo long enough you might begin to realize that it’s not anywhere near Chamonix and has nothing to do with skiing or climbing and what the heck is it doing on the Insider? Well, gentle reader, as I’ve said before the Insider is by, about and for the Chamonix Massif and as we head into a long snowy winter I thought I’d throw in one last blast of summer. For the Massif, doncha know. And with the recent announcement of the winners of Surfer magazine’s annual awards it seemed like a good opportunity to get a few waves on these pages. Hey, we can always dream, can’t we?

Surfer Poll Awards 2009 winners are:

Surprise Men's Winner Kelly Slater

Surprise Men's Winner Kelly Slater

Wow, now there’s a surprise. Let’s see, the guy just scored his 9th world title and he’s just been voted Greatest Surfer of All Time by his peers in Surfer’s Big Issue. Does anyone else even come close?

Women's Winner Stephanie Gilmore

Women's Winner Stephanie Gilmore

Australian and two-time world champion. That’s about all I know. Go Steph.

Best Film Still Filthy

53 cameramen, two years of filming and the best surf spots on every continent. When Billabong makes a surf film they do it right.

Other nominees:

• One Track Mind
• The Present
• BS!
• 5’5” x 19 1/4” Redux

Best Documentary Waveriders

The story of surfing in Ireland and the Irish big wave scene.

• One Track Mind
• Fly in the Champagne
• Echo Beach
• Musica Surfica

Best Cinematography The Present

• One Track Mind
• There’s No I In Go Ry
• Lost Prophets

Best Male Performance Dusty Payne  BS!

• Dane Reynolds (The Present)
• Nathan Fletcher (Lavese Las Manos)
• Andy Irons (Still Filthy)
• Wade Goodall (Still Filthy)
• Ry Craike (There’s No I In Go Ry)

Best Female Performance Chelsea Hedges  The Present
• Sofia Mulanovich (The Present)
• Kassia Meador (Dear and Yonder)
• Belinda Baggs (Dear and Yonder)
• Rochelle Ballard (Surf Into Yoga)

Best Barrel Cory Lopez  5’5” x 19 1/4” Redux
• Dan Malloy (The Present)
• Danny Fuller (Lavese Las Manos)
• Todd Morcom (Storm Surf)
• Kelly Slater (Days of the Strange)

Best Maneuver Taj Burrow, frontside air  Still Filthy

• Wade Goodall, 360 air (Still Filthy)
• Dusty Payne, Kuston Air Stike air (BS!)
• Mitch Coleborn, double-grab flip (BS!)
• Ry Craike, one-handed rodeo (There’s No I In Go Ry)

Worst Wipeout Ken “Skin Dog” Collins  BS!
• “Chris” (Surfing 50 States)
• Maya Gabeira (Dear and Yonder)

• Unknown (Destination Unknown)

• Dan Malloy (The Present)

Coors Heavy Water Nathan Fletcher  Lavese Las Manos
• Richard Fitzgerald, Gabe Davies, Alstair Mennie, Duncan Scott (Waveriders)
• Dylan Longbottom (Still Filthy)

• Todd Morcom (Storm Surf)

Breakthrough Filmmaker Tiffany Morgan-Campbell  Dear and Yonder

Photo of the Year: Secrets by Todd Glaser

Photo of the Year: Secrets by Todd Glaser

• “Sand Trap” by Clark Little
• “Sea Smoke” by Nick LaVecchia
• “Multitasking” by Brian Conley
• “Perfection” by Trent Mitchell


Web Clip Jordy Flip

• Dance Off
• Yazzy Arctic Surf Documentary
• Hitler Boat Trip
• Mad Clips
• Shipstern’s
• Jamie O’Brien

Sponsor Me Breakthrough Performer Brett Simpson


One response to “Surfer Poll Awards

  1. SURFS ÚP DUDES!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s